Faculty

Mark Aindow

Mark Aindow
Professor
Executive Director for Innovation
External Engagement, and Industry Relations

m.aindow@uconn.edu

Defects and Interfaces, Microstructural Development in Alloys and Thin Films & Electron Microscopy


 

Professor Alpay

S. Pamir Alpay
Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor
Associate Dean for Research and Industrial Partnerships
Executive Director, UConn Tech Park

pamir.alpay@uconn.edu

Materials Modeling, Functional Materials, Metallurgy


 

Harold D. Brody
Distinguished Professor

brody@engr.uconn.edu

Materials Processing, Alloy Casting and Solidification & Process Models


 

Avinash Dongare

Avinash M. Dongare
Associate Professor
United Technologies Corporation (UTC) Professor in Engineering Innovation

dongare@uconn.edu

 

Atomic Scale Modeling, Mesoscale Modeling, Microstructural Evolution, Mechanics of Materials, Defects, Interfaces, Materials Under Extreme Environments


 

Lesley D. Frame
Assistant Professor

lesley.frame@uconn.edu

 

Metals Processing, Manufacturing, Corrosion, Residual Stress, Phase Transformations, Structure – Property – Processing Relationships


 

Nanomaterials Synthesis, Characterization and Manipulation, Nanotechnology for Energy, Environmental and Biomedical Applications


 

Rainer Hebert
Professor
Director of Additive Manufacturing Innovation Center
Associate Director of IMS

rainer.hebert@uconn.edu

 

Phase Transformations, Metals & alloys, Metalic Glasses & Severe Plastic Deformation Processing


 

Bryan Huey, Professor of materials science and engineering on May 5, 2016. (/UConn Photo)

Bryan D. Huey
Department Head, Professor

bryan.huey@uconn.edu

 

Scanning Probe Microscopy, Photovoltaics, Data Storage Dynamics, Nano-Bio-Mechanics, Functional Ceramics


 

Jasna Jankovic

Advanced Imaging and Spectroscopy Techniques, Nanomaterials for Clean Energy Applications, Fuel Cells, Batteries, Structure-Property-Performance Correlation


 

Solidification and Metals Joining, Materials Processing, Thin Coatings & Tribology


 

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.
University Professor
Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor

laurencin@uchc.edu

Advanced Biomaterials, Tissue Engineering, Biodegradable Polymers, Nanotechnology


 

Seok-Woo Lee
Associate Professor
Castleman Term Professor in Engineering Innovation 

seok-woo.lee@uconn.edu

Mechanical Behavior of Materials at Multi-Length Scales, In-situ Cryogenic Nanomechanical Characterization, Computer Simulations of Dislocations, Single Crystal Growth, Laser-beam Lithography, Polymer Nanocomposites


 

Fiona Leek
Director Undergraduate Laboratories
Assistant Professor-in-Residence

fiona.leek@engr.uconn.edu

Polymer Characterization and Failure Analysis


 

Radenka Maric
Vice President for Research, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship
CT Clean Energy Fund Professor of Sustainable Energy

maric@engr.uconn.edu

Novel Materials for High Temperature Fuel Cells


 

Serge M. Nakhmanson
Associate Professor
Director for Undergraduate Studies

serge.nakhmanson@uconn.edu

Multiscale Modeling of Materials, Multifunctional Ferroics, Soft Materials


 

Volkan Ortalan

Volkan Ortalan
Associate Professor

vortalan@uconn.edu

Ultrafast Electron Microscopy, Aberration-corrected In-situ TEM, Heterogeneous Catalysts, Materials Under Extreme Conditions, Polymers, Low-dimensional Materials, Additive Manufacturing


 

George Rossetti

George A. Rossetti Jr.
Associate Department Head
Associate Professor

george.rossetti_jr@uconn.edu

Dielectric & Piezoelectric Ceramics, Ferroelectricity, Phenomenological Modeling, Electrical & Thermophysical Properties Characterization


 

Ceramics and Composites, Corrosion, High Temperature Materials Processing


 

 

Prabhakar Singh
UTC Endowed Chair Professor

singh@engr.uconn.edu

High Temperature Materials, Oxidation and Corrosion, Electrochemistry, Solid Oxide Fuel Cells


 

Design and Fabrication of Flexible, Multifunctional Structures and Electronics, Mechanics of Deformation and Fracture of Materials, Energy Storage and Conversion 


 

Advanced and In-situ STEM, Deep Learning, Heterogenous Catalysis, Irradiation Effects, Functional Nanomaterials


FACULTY with AFFILIATE APPOINTMENTS


 

Yusuf Khan
Associate Professor
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, UConn Health Center

ykhan@uchc.edu

Tissue Engineering, Biocompatible and Biodegradable Scaffolds


 

Sangamesh Kumbar

Sangamesh Kumbar
Associate Professor
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, UConn Health Center

kumbar@uchc.edu

Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Biomaterials for Tissue Engineering and Drug Delivery Applications


 

Lakshmi Nair

Lakshmi Nair
Associate Professor
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, UConn Health Center

nair@uchc.edu

Regenerative Engineering, Injectable Hydrogels, Nanostructured Materials, Drug Delivery


 

Syam Nukavarapu Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Syam Nukavarapu
Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering

syam.nukavarapu@uconn.edu

Biomaterials, Engineered Matrices, Tissue Engineering


ADDITIONAL FACULTY in MSE GRADUATE PROGRAM


 

Menka Jain
Associate Professor
Department of Physics

menka.jain@uconn.edu

Synthesis, Characterizations, and Understanding Structure-Property Relationships of Various Interesting Functional and Multifunctional Materials (i.e. Dielectric, Ferroelectric, Ferromagnetic, Multiferroic, Magnetoelectric, Thermoelectric)


 

Liisa Kuhn

Liisa T. Kuhn
Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering

lkuhn@uchc.edu

Biomaterial Scaffolds for Drug Delivery and Bone Tissue Engineering


 

Jeffrey McCutcheon
Associate Professor
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

jeff@engr.uconn.edu

Membrane Separations, Polymer Electrospinning, Forward Osmosis/Osmotic Power


 

Richard Parnas
Professor
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

richard.parnas@uconn.edu

Biofuels Process Design, Biodegradable Polymers, Pervaporation Membranes, and Biomass Extraction


 

Steven L. Suib
Director of IMS
Board of Trustees Professor
Department of Chemistry

steven.suib@uconn.edu

Solid State Inorganic Chemistry, Zeolites and Microporous Materials, Environmental Chemistry, Plasma Chemistry and Catalysis, Semiconductors, Inorganic Photocatalysis, Batteries, Ceramics


 

Brian Willis
Associate Professor
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

bgwillis@engr.uconn.edu

Nanotechnology, Nanofabrication, Photocatalysis, Plasmonics


TEACHING, RESEARCH, and ADJUNCT FACULTY 


 

Dr. Ryan M. Deacon

Alloy Development, High Temperature Corrosion, Materials Characterization with Electrons and X-rays


 

Dan Goberman

High Temperature Environmental Barrier Coatings for Aerospace Applications


 

Weiming Lu

Weiming Lu
Adjunct Professor

weiming.lu@uconn.edu

Carbon Materials and their Applications


 

Rajiv Naik

Rajiv Naik
Adjunct Professor

rajiv.naik@uconn.edu

Composite Materials, Materials Design, Mechanical Properties


 

Greg Ojard
Adjunct Professor

greg.ojard@uconn.edu

Experimental Characterization of Mechanical Properties of Advanced Materials


 

Diane J. Van Scoter
Associate Professor in Residence
Management & Engineering for Manufacturing (MEM)

dvanscoter@engr.uconn.edu

Process Improvement and Development of STEM Teaching Methods and Materials


 

Mei Wei
Research Professor

mei.wei@uconn.edu

Tissue Engineering, Scaffolds, Biomimetic Coatings, Ceramic-Polymer Composites, Nanomaterials, Drug Delivery


EMERITUS FACULTY 


 

C. Barry Carter
Emeritus Professor

Maurice Gell
Emeritus Professor

Norbert D. Greene
Emeritus Professor

Eric Jordan
Emeritus Professor

Harris L. Marcus
Emeritus Professor

John E. Morral
Emeritus Professor