Faculty


CORE MSE FACULTY 


 

Mark Aindow

Mark Aindow
Professor
Executive Director for Innovation
External Engagement, and Industry Relations

m.aindow@uconn.edu

Defects and Interfaces, Microstructural Development in Alloys and Thin Films & Electron Microscopy


 

professor alpay

S. Pamir Alpay
Interim Vice President for Research, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship
Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor

pamir.alpay@uconn.edu

Materials Modeling, Functional Materials, Metallurgy


 

Avinash Dongare

Avinash M. Dongare
Associate Professor
Director for Graduate Studies

dongare@uconn.edu

 

Atomic Scale Modeling, Mesoscale Modeling, Microstructural Evolution, Mechanics of Materials, Defects, Interfaces, Materials Under Extreme Environments


 

professor frame

Lesley D. Frame
Assistant Professor

lesley.frame@uconn.edu

 

Metals Processing, Manufacturing, Corrosion, Residual Stress, Phase Transformations, Structure – Property – Processing Relationships


 

professor gao

Nanomaterials Synthesis, Characterization and Manipulation, Nanotechnology for Energy, Environmental and Biomedical Applications


 

professor hebert

Rainer Hebert
Professor
Director of Pratt & Whitney Additive Manufacturing Center
Associate Director of IMS

rainer.hebert@uconn.edu

 

Phase Transformations, Metals & alloys, Metalic Glasses & Severe Plastic Deformation Processing


 

Bryan Huey, Professor of materials science and engineering on May 5, 2016. (/UConn Photo)

Bryan D. Huey
Department Head, Professor

bryan.huey@uconn.edu

 

Scanning Probe Microscopy, Photovoltaics, Data Storage Dynamics, Nano-Bio-Mechanics, Functional Ceramics


 

Jasna Jankovic

Advanced Imaging and Spectroscopy Techniques, Nanomaterials for Clean Energy Applications, Fuel Cells, Batteries, Structure-Property-Performance Correlation


 

professor laurencin

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.
University Professor
Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Chair Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut Convergence Institute for Translation in Regenerative Engineering

laurencin@uchc.edu

Regenerative Engineering, Advanced Biomaterials, Nanotechnology, Polymer Chemistry, Polymer Physicsy


 

professor lee

Seok-Woo Lee
Associate Professor
Castleman Term Professor in Engineering Innovation 
Director for Undergraduate Studies

seok-woo.lee@uconn.edu

Mechanical Behavior of Advanced Structural Materials, Dislocation Plasticity, Fracture Mechanics, Nano-Mechanics, Deformation Under Cryogenic Environment, High Strain Rate Deformation, Materials for Space Exploration, Metal Additive Manufacturing


 

professor leek

Fiona Leek
Director Undergraduate Laboratories
Assistant Professor-in-Residence

fiona.leek@uconn.edu

Polymer Characterization and Failure Analysis


 

Radenka Maric
Interim President | University of Connecticut
Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor

radenka.maric@uconn.edu

Novel Materials for High Temperature Fuel Cells


 

professor nakhmanson

Serge M. Nakhmanson
Associate Professor
Interim Associate Department Head

serge.nakhmanson@uconn.edu

Multiscale Modeling of Materials, Multifunctional Ferroics, Soft Materials


 

Volkan Ortalan

Volkan Ortalan
Associate Professor

vortalan@uconn.edu

Ultrafast Electron Microscopy, Aberration-corrected In-situ TEM, Heterogeneous Catalysts, Materials Under Extreme Conditions, Polymers, Low-dimensional Materials, Additive Manufacturing


 

George Rossetti

George A. Rossetti Jr.
Associate Professor
Director of Professional Education (MENG & Certificate Programs)

george.rossetti_jr@uconn.edu

Dielectric & Piezoelectric Ceramics, Ferroelectricity, Phenomenological Modeling, Electrical & Thermophysical Properties Characterization


 

professor singh

 

Prabhakar Singh
UTC Endowed Chair Professor

singh@engr.uconn.edu

High Temperature Materials, Oxidation and Corrosion, Electrochemistry, Solid Oxide Fuel Cells


 

professor wang

Design and Fabrication of Flexible, Multifunctional Structures and Electronics, Mechanics of Deformation and Fracture of Materials, Energy Storage and Conversion 


 

photo of Yuanyuan Zhu on June 7, 2022. (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

Yuanyuan Zhu
Assistant Professor
MSE Honors Program Director

yuanyuan.2.zhu@uconn.edu

Advanced and In-situ STEM, Deep Learning, Heterogenous Catalysis, Irradiation Effects, Functional Nanomaterials


FACULTY with AFFILIATE APPOINTMENTS


 

professor khan

Yusuf Khan
Associate Professor
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, UConn Health Center

ykhan@uchc.edu

Tissue Engineering, Biocompatible and Biodegradable Scaffolds


 

Sangamesh Kumbar

Sangamesh Kumbar
Associate Professor
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, UConn Health Center

kumbar@uchc.edu

Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Biomaterials for Tissue Engineering and Drug Delivery Applications


 

Lakshmi Nair

Lakshmi Nair
Associate Professor
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, UConn Health Center

nair@uchc.edu

Regenerative Engineering, Injectable Hydrogels, Nanostructured Materials, Drug Delivery


 

Syam Nukavarapu Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Syam Nukavarapu
Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering

syam.nukavarapu@uconn.edu

Biomaterials, Engineered Matrices, Tissue Engineering


ADDITIONAL FACULTY in MSE GRADUATE PROGRAM (eligible as primary advisors for PhD/MS students)


 

professor suib

Steven L. Suib
Director of IMS
Board of Trustees Professor
Department of Chemistry

steven.suib@uconn.edu

Solid State Inorganic Chemistry, Zeolites and Microporous Materials, Environmental Chemistry, Plasma Chemistry and Catalysis, Semiconductors, Inorganic Photocatalysis, Batteries, Ceramics


 

photo of Menka Jain

Menka Jain
Associate Professor
Department of Physics

menka.jain@uconn.edu

Functional Metal-oxide Materials


 


TEACHING, RESEARCH, ADJUNCT FACULTY and SCHOLARS 


 

Dr. Ryan M. Deacon

Alloy Development, High Temperature Corrosion, Materials Characterization with Electrons and X-rays


 

Dan Goberman

High Temperature Environmental Barrier Coatings for Aerospace Applications


 

Weiming Lu

Weiming Lu
Adjunct Professor

weiming.lu@uconn.edu

Carbon Materials and their Applications


 

photo of Rajiv Naik

Rajiv Naik
Visiting Professor

rajiv.naik@uconn.edu

Composite Materials, Materials Design, Mechanical Properties


 

professor nayak

First-principles Thermodynamics, Defects in Solids, Defect Induced Magnetism and Structural Transformations in Complex Oxides


 

professor ojard

Greg Ojard
Adjunct Professor

greg.ojard@uconn.edu

Experimental Characterization of Mechanical Properties of Advanced Materials


 

Sanjubala Sahoo on Nov. 16, 2017. (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

First-principles Modeling, Physics and Chemistry of Surfaces, Catalysis and Magnetism


 

professor schaffoener

Ceramics and Composites, Corrosion, High Temperature Materials Processing


 

professor scoter

Diane J. Van Scoter
Associate Professor in Residence
Management & Engineering for Manufacturing (MEM)

dvanscoter@engr.uconn.edu

Process Improvement and Development of STEM Teaching Methods and Materials


 


EMERITUS FACULTY 


 

Harold Brody
Emeritus Professor

Professor C. Barry Carter

C. Barry Carter
Emeritus Professor

Maurice Gell
Emeritus Professor

 

 

 

 

 

Norbert D. Greene
Emeritus Professor

Eric Jordan
Emeritus Professor

Theo Z. Kattamis
Emeritus Professor