MSE Professor Pamir Alpay Receives 2018 UConn-AAUP Excellence Award

By Amanda Olavarria

State Representative Gregg Haddad and Professor Pamir Alpay

(Left to right:) State Representative Gregg Haddad and GE Professor of Advanced Manufacturing Pamir Alpay

GE Professor of Advanced Manufacturing Pamir Alpay was one of the few distinguished recipients of the 2018 UConn-AAUP Excellence Awards. He received the Excellence in Research & Creativity: Career Award, which is given to faculty who have contributed to a field of knowledge or area of inquiry. This award honors research excellence and creativity that enhances the University’s academic reputation. It recognizes scholarship with a national and international reputation, outstanding service in promoting scholarship at UConn, and long-term impact on UConn scholarship. The recipient must have a record of scholarly and creative productivity and must have worked at UConn for at least 10-years.

The UConn-AAUP seeks nominations of its member in areas of Teaching, Research, and Service Recognition. A formal presentation was held April 23, 2018, at the State Capitol building to honor this year’s recipients. Colleagues, friends, and families gathered to congratulate these deserving recipients on their achievements.

Published: May 7, 2018

Categories: awards, faculty, news

Available Archives