Dr. Laurencin Named Recipient of 2020 Von Hippel Award

By Samantha Bertolino

University Professor Cato T. Laurencin, MD, PhD

University Professor Cato T. Laurencin, MD, Ph.D., has been widely recognized for his exceptional achievements in engineering, science, medicine and technology.

Most recently he has been named the 2020 recipient of the Materials Research Society’s Von Hippel Award, the organization’s highest and most prestigious honor. This award is made to recognize an individual with qualities most prized by materials scientists and engineers—brilliance and originality of intellect, combined with vision that transcends the boundaries of conventional scientific disciplines. It is presented annually at the MRS Fall Meeting, where the recipient is invited to speak at the Awards Ceremony.

Dr. Laurencin’s accomplishments span a wide range of fields. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering and received the Simon Ramo Founders Award for his work. He is also an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, and received the Walsh McDermott Medal for his profound leadership within that role. Dr. Laurencin is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science as well, and was awarded the Philip Hauge Abelson prize for his significant contributions to the advancement of science within the United States. He is also a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, and received the highest honor for technological advancement in America, the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, from President Barack Obama in ceremonies at the White House.

Published: November 4, 2020

Categories: awards, biomaterials, news, regenerative engineering, UConn Health

Available Archives